Board of directors

Gordon Galt

Gordon Galt (Chairman)

BEng Hons, BCom, MAICD, MAusIMM

Non-Executive Chairman

Mr Galt is a mining engineer with extensive coal industry experience in Australia, going back to the early 1970s. He began his career at South Blackwater in Queensland, gaining his First Class Mine Manager's qualifications in 1976 before becoming one of the key early development team members at Capcoal German Creek in 1977.

Mr Galt was Manager at German Creek Open Cut then Mine Manager at German Creek Central Colliery, which was Queensland's first modern longwall mine and, for many years, Australia's most productive underground coal mine. He was appointed Development Manager for Southern Colliery, also at German Creek in 1987. In 1991, Mr Galt was appointed Operations Manager at Ulan Coal in NSW. He became General Manager at Ulan in 1993, then Managing Director at Cumnock Coal in 1996 before roles as Managing Director with Newcrest Mining and in investment banking with ABN AMRO.

Mr Galt is currently a principal of Taurus funds Management Pty Ltd, Chairman of Nucoal Resources Limited and Lefroy Exploration Limited and a Non-Executive Director of Finders Resources Limited.

Michael Davies

Michael Davies

BA Hons, MBA.

Non-Executive Director

Mr Davies is a principal of Taurus Funds Management Pty Ltd, and is a specialist in resource financing, with more than 20 years’ experience in major banks (Barclays, BZW and ABN AMRO) originating, structuring and arranging debt and providing corporate advice to natural resources companies.

Mr Davies is currently a non-executive director of NuCoal Resources Limited and Lefroy Exploration Limited and has not been a director of any other listed companies in the past five years to 31 December 2017.

Geoff Marshall

Peter Briggs

BSc (Mining - 1st Class Honours), Masters of Mining, MBA (UNR), South Africa Coal Mine Manager’s Certificate – Mining Engineer / Financier

Non-Executive Director

Mining Engineer with 15 years of operational, evaluation, and M&A experience in South Africa, USA, and Australia with Anglo American and Cyprus Amax. 15 years of project finance experience with the Commonwealth Bank with the last 3 years leading the Mining senior debt global team. Broad experience across the mining sector with particular expertise in coal mining and related infrastructure.

Mr Briggs is Non-Executive Chairman of OURO Mining Inc, a Non-Executive director of Northern Silica Corporation, and a Director of Winchester Coal Pty Ltd.

Michael Rosengren

Michael Rosengren

BEng (Mining, First Class Honours), BA Oxon (PPE), MSc, FAusIMM, MAICD

Managing Director

Mr Rosengren obtained a BEng (Mining, First Class Honours) from the University of Queensland in 1984. He was Queensland Rhodes Scholar for 1985. He attended Oxford University, completing a B Arts in 1987, and later obtained an MSc (Mineral Production Management) from the University of London in 1988. On returning to Australia, Mr Rosengren joined Mount Isa Mines, eventually becoming Enterprise Mine Manager. He then worked as Resident Manager on construction and operation of the Timbarra Gold Mine in NSW, followed by 18 months as General Manager with the Department of Environmental Protection in Western Australia.

In 2002, he became Operations Manager Mining, East Coast, with Henry Walker Eltin before moving to Thiess with roles as Executive Mining Manager – Queensland; General Manager – Queensland, across civil, building, mining and rail enterprises; and ultimately Executive General Manager for Australian Mining. Mr Rosengren joined BHP Billiton in 2011, with responsibility for Poitrel and South Walker Creek open cuts in Queensland.

In 2013 as Vice-President, Production, he was responsible for additional mines including Illawarra Coal, New Mexico Coal, Cerrejon and Indomet. He left BHP Billiton in late 2014 and since has worked in private companies and in consulting roles.

Craig McGown

Craig McGown


Non-Executive Director

Mr McGown is an investment banker with over 40 years’ experience advising companies in Australia and internationally, particularly in the natural resources sector. He was a Fellow of the Institute of Chartered Accountants and an Affiliate of the Financial Services Institute of Australasia. Prior to joining New Holland Capital, Craig was a Non-Executive Director of Minproc Holdings Limited (at a time that company owned significant interests in the German Creek and Warkworth coal mines), an Executive Director of Resource Finance Corporation Limited (Now RFC Ambrian Limited) and Executive Chairman of the stockbroker, DJ Carmichael Pty Limited. He has been a Non-Executive Director/Chairman of publicly listed companies involved in operating base and precious metals mines.

Mr McGown is currently an Executive Director of New Holland Capital Pty Limited and is based in Perth, is Non-Executive Chairman of Sipa Resources Ltd and of Pioneer Resources Limited.

Michael Anderson

Michael Anderson

BSc (Hons), PhD Geologist

Non-Executive Director

Mr Anderson specialises in Mining Geology and corporate governance. After completing a PhD in Mining Geology he has accumulated over 25 years’ professional industry experience, largely in South Africa and Australia. His career commenced as a geologist with Anglo American, followed by roles in the metallurgical and engineering industries with Mintek, Bateman and Kellogg Brown & Root. Prior to joining Taurus he held senior managerial roles with Gallery Gold, in Corporate Development, and most recently as Managing Director/CEO at Exco Resources Limited, where he oversaw the successful development of the White Dam Gold Project, and the sale of the Company’s Cloncurry Copper Project to Xstrata. Mr Anderson has served on a number of company boards.

Mr Anderson is currently an officer of Taurus Funds Management Pty Limited and is based in Perth, a Non-Executive Director of Hot Chili Limited and Alliance Mining Commodities Limited.

John Fisher-Stamp


Company Secretary

Mr Fisher-Stamp is a Chartered Accountant and has worked in the resources sector for the past 14 years. John has held executive and consulting positions in corporate finance and CFO. These roles covered compliance with corporate regulations and reporting in Australia, USA, UK and Asia. Mr Fisher-Stamp is a director of USA- based mining developer Ouro Mining, Inc, Non-Executive Director A-Cap Energy Limited (ASX:ACB) and former Deputy Chair and Chair of the Bank Audit Committee of RACQ Bank Limited, an Australian APRA regulated ADI retiring in December 2017 after serving a maximum 8-year term.

Mr Fisher-Stamp is a former Non-Executive Director and Chair of the Audit Committee of delisted ASX biotechnology company Panbio Limited from July 2003 to January 2008 following shareholder approval of a court approved members’ scheme takeover. Mr Fisher-Stamp’s experience extends to Public Practice as a Chartered Accountant and Partner with Deloitte, Brisbane for 10 years providing business advisory, corporate taxation and support services.